About Greenmiles


In 2006 a small team named “Greenmiles” began offering compensation for CO2 emissions. At that time the main focus was on special events such as the conference “Meeting the Future” by the Doctoral Candidates Network for Sustainable Development (DNW). As a result of this success, Greenmiles GmbH was founded in the beginning of 2007 and since then has continuously expanded its offering. In the meantime, large companies such as the publishing group Milchstraße, BP, the Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, Premiere Global Services, Vattenfall Europe und many medium-sized companies have become Greenmiles customers.

Greenmiles GmbH is headed by Dr. Sven Bode. Following the completion of his studies, Sven Bode focused on climate protection and environmental policies, which led him to a number of projects, research contracts and advisory activities at the Hamburg Institute of International Economies HWWA as well as renowned institutions such as GTZ, the EU Commission, the Secretary of the Working Group on Emissions Trading (AGE) at the Federal Ministry of the Environment and many more. 
Sven Bode received his doctorate in 2004 from the Department of Economics at Hamburg University. His doctoral thesis, “On the design of the international climate regime”, has been published in national and international trade journals. As a result, he possesses the in-depth, specialized knowledge needed in order to ensure the reduction of CO2 through appropriate climate protection projects. Only through this can a real and additional contribution to climate protection be ensured. In addition, experts in various areas such as data processing and marketing are today part of the Greenmiles team. 

Meanwhile, several independent organizations recommend carbon offsets with Greenmiles, for example, BAUM e. V., the German Environmental Management Association – Europe’s largest environmental initiative with more than 450 members – and the Auto Club of Germany (VCD e. V., Member Magazine 3/2008).

At the beginning of the 2008 UN Climate Change Conference in Poznan the company introduced its newest product – greenmiles®.  As a simple unit – a greenmile corresponds to a reduction of global CO2 emissions of one kilogram – it allows all those who are interested to quickly and conveniently collect contributions to climate protection and to personally determine how they are used.  


CO2-neutral driving

Offset the CO2 emissions from your car and show others. more...

CO2-neutral flying

Use the CO2 Calculator to easily determine your emissions from travel and... more......

CO2-neutral events

Events can easily be made carbon neutral with Greenmiles... more...

Highest Quality Emission Reductions

Only officially recognized climate protection projects that are registered with the United Nations and work in accordance with the Kyoto Protocol... more...

TÜV audits Certificate and Management

In order to ensure full transparency, Greenmiles has its emission reduction certificate and management contract audited by TÜV Nord Cert GmbH, an independent auditor more...

The climate protection tickets 2017...

The new climate protection tickets 2017 are available from now on. Compensate your driving emission... more...

Still the best present in the world

Do you want to radiate a good atmoshere? Why don't you give a piece of climate protection?
more...

Partner for Companies

Following the establishment of the working group “climate strategies for companies,” B.A.U.M. e.V. recommended Greenmiles for its members... more...

Über Greenmiles

Bereits 2006 bot ein kleines Team unter dem Namen „Greenmiles“ die Kompensation von CO2 Emissionen an. Der Schwerpunkt lag seinerzeit auf Fachveranstaltungen wie z. B. der Konferenz „Meeting-the-Future“ des Doktoranden Netzwerkes nachhaltig Wirtschaften (DNW). Durch den Erfolg bestätigt wurde Anfang 2007 die Greenmiles GmbH gegründet und das Angebot seit dem kontinuierlich erweitert. Inzwischen gehören auch große Unternehmen wie die Verlagsgruppe Milchstraße, BP, das Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, Premiere Global Services, Vattenfall Europe und viele mittelständische Unternehmen zu den Kunden von Greenmiles.

Geleitet wird die Greenmiles GmbH von Dr. Sven Bode. Direkt nach seinem Studium fokussierte er sich ab dem Jahr 2000 auf Klimaschutz und -politik, was ihn zu einer Vielzahl von Engagements, Forschungsaufträgen und beratenden Tätigkeiten am Hamburgischen WeltWirtschaftsArchiv HWWA sowie für renommierte Institutionen wie GTZ, die EU-Kommission und das Sekretariat der Arbeitgruppe Emissionshandel (AGE) beim Bundesumweltministerium u. v. a. führte.

Promoviert wurde Sven Bode 2004 am Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaften der Universität Hamburg mit der Arbeit „On the design of the international climate regime“. Seine Arbeiten wurden in nationalen und internationalen Fachzeitschriften publiziert. Er verfügt damit über das notwendige detaillierte Fachwissen, um die CO2-Reduktion durch geeignete Klimaschutzprojekte sicherzustellen. Allein dadurch kann ein echter und zusätzlicher Beitrag zum Klimaschutz sichergestellt werden. Darüber hinaus sind heute Experten verschiedener Bereiche wie EDV oder Marketing Teil des Greenmiles Team.

Inzwischen empfehlen verschiedene unabhängige Organisationen die CO2-Kompensation mit Greenmiles, wie z. B. BAUM e. V. – mit mehr als 450 Mitgliedsunternehmen Europas größte Umweltinitiative – oder der Verkehrsclub von Deutschland e.V. (Mitglieder Zeitschrift 3/2008).

Zum Beginn der UN Klimakonferenz 2008 in Posen wurde mit den greenmiles® das neuste Produkt vorgestellt. Als einfache Einheit – eine greenmile entspricht einer Reduktion der globalen CO2-Emissionen um ein Kilogramm – ermöglicht es allen Interessierten, schnell und bequem Beiträge zum Klimaschutz zu sammeln und über die Verwendung selbst zu entscheiden.


CO2-neutral Autofahren

Berechnen und kompensieren Sie die CO2-Emissionen Ihres Autos. mehr...

CO2-neutral Fliegen

Ermitteln Sie mit unserem CO2-Rechner einfach die Emissionen Ihres Fluges und... mehr......

CO2-neutrale Veranstaltungen

Veranstaltungen können mit greenmiles ganz einfach klimaneutral... mehr...

Die besten Klimaschutzprojekte

Für greenmiles kommen ausschließlich professionelle Klimaschutzprojekte in Frage, die nach den weltweiten Standards der Vereinten Nationen und des Kyoto-Protokolls arbeiten mehr...

TÜV-geprüft

Kaum ist Klimaschutz "in Mode" gekommen, werden viele mehr oder weniger gute Projekte zum Klimaschutz angeboten. Greenmiles hat als erster und einziger Anbieter eine TÜV-geprüfte.... mehr...

Achtung: Die Klimaschutz-Tickets 2017...

Die Klimaschutz-Tickets 2017 sind ab jetzt erhältlich. Kompensieren Sie heute schon alle unvermeidbaren CO2 Emissionen... mehr...

Das beste Geschenk der Welt

Verbreiten Sie gutes Klima und verschenken Sie einen greenmiles-Gutschein mehr...

Partner für Unternehmen

B.A.U.M. e.V. - Deutschlands größter Arbeits- kreis umweltorientierter Unternehmen empfiehlt Greenmiles als Partner für Klimaschutz. mehr...